Book Talk [#08]: Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

I would like to thank the publisher for sending me an advance reader’s copy through Net Galley in exchange of a honest review.


Book Depository

Pages: 352, hardcover

Book Birthday: June 06 2017

Synopsis:

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel, Earth’s charming young playboy, the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford. ©goodreads


Overall Thoughts:

I almost did not finished this, there are not much of action scenes and most of them are not developed. the world building is too weak that I had a difficulty reading it.

PosterMaker-1496557026741

Plot: 2/5

I was disappointed, While I was reading the synopsis of the book, I was excited that it has a lot of action and with aliens this is an awesome book but all I got is the talking. three-fourths of the book was just talking. The remaining one-fourth, it became a little bit better but I still didn’t like it.

Characters:2/5

the characters did not do much. It has many characters but for me some of them are unecesseary and didn’t help in anything. Miguel is not a flirt in the book, I don’t think his a flirt, the author didn’t convinced me that he is a playboy. And what disappoints me is that there aren’t much of alien interaction that I looked forward to while reading the synopsis.

Writing Style: 2.5/5

It was monotone and whenever I tried to read this I end up falling asleep. the world building is not enough to imagine what is happening in that world.

📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚📚

Leave a Reply

