Book Talk [#06]: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Book Depository

Pages: 422, Hardcover

Book Birthday: September 27 2011

Synopsis:

Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?


Overall Thought: First, the cover didn’t do anything for me to read the book. It should have a book cover makeover. 

The world in this book is interesting, I wonder why didn’t I read this sooner and it has been out since 2011. What lure me in this book are the opening lines that I see in Pinterest and Tumblr. 

And I love angel books so I gave this a try, I never regetted it.  

The book is full of mystery that I couldn’t  sleep because I need answers. Through out the book I wondered who were the bad guys. I couldn’t wait to read the next book.  Probably going to read it after writing this. 

 

Plot:4/5 ⭐

It was unpredictable, the plot twist are on point. As I went through the book, I kept on thinkInc about the possible outcomes and who is the “devil” that was written on the opening line, why was that devil connected to Karou then It all answered my question in just a snap (see what I did there😉). What I don’t like was at the near end when Kaou found out everything and the flashbacks. I’m not a fan too much of it. But still I can’t wait to read what this bok has to offer. 

Characters: 5/5⭐

I can’t imagine what Karou went through when she can’t find doors to her family and I thought she will kill Akiva, an angel but then she was mesmerized by his above this world looks, and brought to her house. (If I were her,I think I would do the same. I like to kno w more about Brimstone and the other Chimaeras. 

Writing Style: 4.5⭐

This is my first Lain Taylor book and definitely not the last. Her world building is breaking my mind and the way she described every character and settings made my reading easier.  

5 thoughts on “Book Talk [#06]: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Leave a Reply

