Book Talk [#05]- Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault by Candace Robinson 

I would like to thank the publisher for sendingme an advance reader’s copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange f a honest review. 😊

Title: Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault 

Author: Candace Robinson

Pages: 242, paperback

Book Birthday: May 16 2017

Genre: Retelling, Horror, Young Adult (ages 15 years old and older )

Synopsis:

Some see it… Some don’t…

People in the town of Deer Park, Texas are vanishing. There is a strange museum, known as Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault, that appears overnight. Perrie Madeline’s best friend and ex-boyfriend are among the missing. Perrie, along with her friend August, go on a pursuit to search for them in the mysterious museum. Could the elusive Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault have anything to do with their disappearances?

A book that intertwines horror with retellings.©goodreads


Overall thought: This is one of  the most terrifying book I ever read . May be it is because of the fairytales that are in this book and how the author played with them. The author just ruined my whole childhood in one book. But I really enjoyed it, I never read this fast for so long. Now I’m thinking about what is going to happen in the next book and how I’m going to sleep without having nightmares. 
This is one of my top reads for this year and my top 1 for horror section.

Plot: 5/5⭐

When it became from 0 to 100 real quick. It just started with a common contemporary beginnings but when it came tthe middle and entered the museum. My heart beats so fast that I couldn’t breathe properly and as the climax arrived, I thought it was the worse but trust me it’s not. The connection of fairytales and how the author played with it. It messed up my mind. I think me and Perrie will be together at a mental facility after all of this.  

Characters: 5/5⭐

I feel connected to Perrie as she went trough this adventure and scared for her on what is going to happen next. Perrie is the protagonist and losing her ex boyfriend and best friend/cousin is hard to take but being taken in this nightmare is unimaginable. Everytime they went to another portal I keep on praying for her safety specially when she entered the “Jack the Ripper” (A little teaser for you 😉😉). I almost had a heart attack.  I hope she will be fine at the end of this story and still sane.

Writing Style: 5/5⭐

I like to watch horror films but I’m the kind of person who covers her ears but don’t closes her eyes, because the sound effects and background music are more scarier than the movie itself. I never thought I would feel that way in a book that I just want to cover my ears because it’s to scary. Candace Robinson did a great job on describing sounds which is important in horror movies and even in books. The way she describe how it sounds makes me cringe. 

Pacing: 5/5⭐

This is a one sitting read as you cannot stop turning the pages and can’t wait on what’s going to happen next. I was so hooked by this book that I didn’t even knew that I was near end of the book.

Leave a Reply

