Book Talk [#04]: Alice: The Wanderland Chronicles

I would like to thank the publisher for sending me an advance reader’s copy through Net Galley in exchange of a honest review. 😊

Title: Alice: The Wanderland Chronicles

Author: J.M. Sullivan

Pages: 360, paperback

Book Birthday: May 16 2017

Publisher: Pen Name Publishing

Synopsis:

“Always protect your queen.”

Ever since the outbreak of the Plague, life hasn’t been easy, and for seventeen-year-old Alice Carroll, it just got worse. Her sister, Dinah, has contracted the ‘un-deadly’ Momerath Virus and without a cure, will soon be worse than dead. She’ll be momerath.

Alice must leave the safety of the Sector and venture into Momerath Territory to find the antidote – if it exists. Chasing a rumor about a mysterious doctor with the cure, Alice falls down the rabbit hole into Wanderland, where ravenous momerath aren’t the only danger lurking. ©goodreads

Plot: 5/5⭐

This is my first Alice In Wonderland retelling and I’m not a huge fan of the movie or the original book but this retelling is beyond my expectations. I didn’t even notice it was a fairytale retelling. It also has a challenge that made the readers connect to the book snd the story itself. The story is unpredictable it will keep you guessing what will going to happen next. 

CHARACTERS: 4.5/5 ⭐

 All the characters are mysterious, as I read the book I didn’t know who were the allies and who were not. Some characters made me think twce who they really were which made it challenging. Alice in this book made me off at first, I don’t know why I just don’t like her at the first chapters of the book may be it’s because she talks to herself too much. I know this is an Alice in Wonderland retelling but the characters are so on point. I can’t wait to find other Alice In Wonderland characters in the upcoming books of the series. 

Writing Style: 5/5 ⭐

Even though this is an Alice In Wonderland retelling, the author made a different flavor to it . I think writing a retelling is hard as the writer tried his/her best not to copy the whole plot of the original story and writing it in a darker way, I can’t imagine. She gave the cahracters different voices that made them different from the original story. 

Pacing: 4/5⭐ 

Pacing of this book was like a roller coaster to me. It was a rough start, It felt boring on the first chapters of the story that I almost didn’t want to go on but as I reached the climax, it felt like I couldn’t breath then the story went down again. From middle to end of the book everything became smooth.

Leave a Reply

