Book Talk[#01]: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Title: Words In Deep Blue 

Author:Cath Crowley 

Pages: 288

Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

Publication: June 6 2017

Synopsis: Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.


Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore. 

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough. ©Goodreads

I thought the bright cover of this book meants it is a contemporary novel then I checked goodreads, it says it is about about best friends, then the girl fell in love with guy but the guy has a girlfriend and the girl chose to confessed her love in a letter that she left in his favorite poetry book when she was about to leave the town. After many years she came back and the bestfriends met again and work together. I was certain that this was a love story but after I read it, it was way more than just a romance novel. I regretted I didn’t picked it up right away. It was one of the most beautiful books for 2017. Reading this was a big deal because nowadays I’m into Fantasy and Dystopian genres. 

I want to thank Cath Crowley for making this book, it was a quick read with just 288 pages but it didn’t stop her from making an abundant story  not just from the two characters but also the people surrounds them. It also has a lot of stories from different people, their conversation and letters in between books (there will be a lot of books so that’s a plus). It was beautifully written that I never thought about the time, as if I went to that bookshop and the time stopped. I finished this at 3 in the morning. 

I fell in love with the bookshop they worked in, specially the Letter Library, The Letter Library is a part of the bookshop, they don’t sell the books in that section, but you can leave letter, highlight, underline words and write on the margins (I’m uncomfortable doing that in my books but I find it beautiful) Cath Crowley slides in different conversation and letters from different people. It would be cool if bookshops have this, connecting from people and books. 

I recommend this to people who loves bookshops and books. And it is good to read in a place full of books or bookshops. 

Favorite Quote: 

There should be a disconnect button you can push when someone leaves: you’ve fucked me over; therefore I no longer love you. I’m not asking for the button to be connected to an ejector seat that removes them from the universe, just one small button that removes them from your heart.

*The following Q and A  below may have spoiler( I will try my best not to give much) please think about reading this if you haven’t read the book yet. 

  1.  What was your favorite part? 
  • My favorite part was Patheas letter to George (they would make a great couple) 

      2. Who was your favorite character?

  • Cal Sweetie, yes he died early in the book but his letter was too much for me and the way they talked about him made him my favorite character. 

      3. Did you learn something?

  • I don’t need to carry the world and there will be people no matter how trashy you treat them will offer their hands to help you in any way they can and you need those people in your life. 

      4. Will you read the author again?

  • Yes, how can’t I not? With the author who can come up with letter library and put random letter to the just like what she wrote in the book. 

     

Leave a Reply

